RESOURCE: Library of Congress Recommended Format Specifications

The Library of Congress (LC) has issues its Recommended Format Specifications for 2014-2015 for analog and digital formats, which are grouped into six categories:

  1. Textual Works and Musical Compositions
  2. Still Image Works
  3. Audio Works
  4. Moving Image Works
  5. Software and Electronic Gaming and Learning
  6. Datasets/Databases

In addition to guiding LC’s acquisition and preservation efforts, the recommendations are also intended for other organizations, with the stated purpose to “inform the creative and library communities on best practices for ensuring the preservation of, and long-term access to, the creative output of the nation and the world.”

The site also includes the report, Sustainability of Digital Formats: Planning for Library of Congress Collections, which provides a wealth of information on acquiring, evaluating, and preserving all types of digital records.

dh+lib Review

This post was produced through a cooperation between Stephanie Beene, Jolie Braun, Katrien Deroo, Emilee Mathews, Beth Russell, Zachary Schoenberger, Stewart Varner, and Amy Wickner (Editors-at-large for the week), Zach Coble (Editor for the week), Sarah Potvin (Site Editor), and Caro Pinto and Roxanne Shirazi (dh+lib Review Editors).